so, i wasn't planning to write a blog post today, cause, i dont know. there are lots of things happening right now in my life, but putting them in words is always kind of hard, and i havent been in a very good mindset lately, so, its weird. its weird, its strange, its all of those adjectives. but, as i was listening to one of my daily mixes on spotify i ended up listening to Hermes Trismegisto Escreveu, by the great master of music Jorge Ben Jor. and i dont know, that song just speaks to me in some kind of esotherical weird way. its about Hermes Trismegistus (Trismegisto is how you write his name in portuguese), a mythical legendary figure that is fabled to have written the Hermetica, a collection of texts that discuss a myriad of subjects, both technical and religious. i have to read them sometime. or something. well, comimg back to the song itself, i will refer to a translation of the lyrics I found at https://lyricstranslate.com

Two thousand years before Christ,
the pharaoh Hermes Trismegistus wrote
the wonderful hermetic treatise
with a diamant point
and an emerald blade
which was found several centuries later
by the soldier of Alexander the Great
in the famous pyramid of Giza.
Hail, Hermes Trismegistus who has the three parts
of the universal philosophy:
It is true, it is a lie, certain, very truthful.

as a trans man, I'm very attracted to these figures... i feel a connection to them, somehow, to this idea of legendary masculinity of whatever. it's just cool? yeah, its just cool. makes me sleep more happily at night. well, that brings us to one of the conflicts this march brought to me. i came out as a trans man to my mother some months ago, but only has she really been taking me seriously. which is great. im very grateful to have her support. but, it's also strange? she still uses my old name, calls me daughter. uses feminine prounons. but she isnt doing this out of malice, she just isnt used to this stuff. it still kind of hurts, tho. it's strange. a very weird kind of strange. but, huh, you know, when I find myself on these situations, I always think about greek heroes or something. Jason had to travel to the end of the world to get the Golden Fleece so people would recognize him as the king of his land. i have to deal with people calling me by my old name. everyone has their battles. this was a very weird march, overall, but not a bad month. i have learned some new things. and i have become more of myself.

is loading comments...